> Green Life > Green Action > Product Planning > Carbon Footprint Reduction

Carbon Footprint Reduction

Reducing Carbon Footprint Step by Step

Enterprises, before they implement carbon reduction strategies, must learn thoroughly about all possible ways the products they manufacture can produce greenhouse gases within the entire life-cycle of that product. They must then mitigate them; that is, to reduce the carbon footprint of these products. BenQ practices the promise of sustainability of the Earth, and has been closely following the international standards and trends for carbon footprint calculation.

Carbon footprint is a means of describing the carbon dioxide released directly and indirectly from a product in the process of raw material acquisition, manufacture, distribution, transportation as to the use and final disposal stage.

In 2009, BenQ started to follow the PAS 2050 protocol drawn by the British Standards Institution (BSI), the UK Carbon Trust and the UK Department for Environment, Food and Rural Affairs (DEFRA) and selected products with 20-inch display, (ref. G2020HD and 32-inch TV, ref. VB3223E) as an indicator models and cooperated with suppliers, starting from front-end of product design, to proceed with a product carbon footprint inventory and achieve industry-leading product carbon footprint certification. In 2010, BenQ gradually reduced the carbon footprint certification of digital projectors, (ref. MP772ST), e-book readers, (ref. K61) and digital cameras, (ref. C1450) among others. Step by step, BenQ is fulfilling its CSR declaration to return sustainability to Earth.

> 綠活主張 > 綠實踐 > 產品規劃設計 > 減少碳足跡

減少碳足跡

一歩一歩 減少碳足跡

對企業而言,實施減碳策略之前必須徹底了解產品在生命週期裡所有可能產生溫室氣體的管道,並加以防堵,也就是減輕產品的碳足跡。BenQ實踐永續地球的諾言,一直密切關注國際間碳足跡計算標準的發展趨勢。
碳足跡(Carbon Footprint)是指產品從原物料取得、製造、配送運輸,到使用及最終廢棄等階段,直接與間接產生的二氧化碳排放量。

2009年BenQ依循英國標準協會(BSI)、英國碳基金(Carbon Trust)和英國環境、食品與農村事務部(DEFRA)聯合推出的PAS 2050標準,挑選出20吋顯示器產品G2020HD及32吋電視機產品VB3223E為指標機種,從產品研發設計前端即與供應商密切合作,進行產品碳足跡盤查,並領先業界取得產品碳足跡認證。2010年BenQ更陸續取得數位投影機MP772ST、電子書閱讀器K61及數位相機C1450等產品之碳足跡認證,一步一步實踐把綠色還給地球的企業責任。