> Our Commitment > General Manager of Product Technology Center

General Manager of Product Technology Center

CSR has become a global trend, which we're continually improving on. The master of management, Michael Porter, said, ※The combination of social responsibility and management strategies will be the source of new competence for the enterprise in the near future. Two years ago, BenQ started producing and designing green products, and implemented CSR in all aspects. There are three major parts in CSR: Social care, economic development and maintaining the environment. Economic development is the most important theme for an enterprise, but in doing so, we also value the rights & interests of all our employees, their families and the community.

Environment is also a key importance for BenQ to realize. BenQ continuously puts in the efforts on designing green products. There are so many electronic products nowadays and a cycle is about 3-6 months. As a GM of 3C brand, I will devote myself on the protection of our environment when designing and manufacturing these products. To develop green products and protect the environment when designing and manufacturing, we must ensure the following:

 

1.Energy Saving & Carbon Reduction
Energy saving and carbon reduction is also referred to as “ power recourses management.” We hope to reduce the energy consumption by 30% in the upcoming years. We will cooperate with AUO and other product lines and many products like our monitors and TVs have already been certified to be environmentally friendly. Hopefully, the examination of our carbon footprint can be done on six major parts of our products. The carbon footprint of producing, manufacturing, research & development, marketing, using and recycling can be clearly labeled on each product. People can choose products base on the carbon footprint label. And we do hope that we can reduce the carbon footprint for producing the next generation products. However, it takes the efforts of upstream to downstream and manufacturing.

2.Toxic Materials Control
Old electronic products contain toxic parts and emit toxic waste during production. This creates long-term pollution problems in the environment, such as the use of mercury. The lights and backlight board of old projector models contain mercury and mercury is a highly toxic substance. But now, with the popularity of LEDs, we are able to product non-mercury products. However, besides mercury, there are still dozens of poisonous substances we need to gradually banish in the future.

3. Eco Packaging & Recycling
We need to implement the use of recyclable materials. The WEEE Directive states that the standard portion of eco-friendly material use in products is 75%. We use more than 95% of recycled materials in many of our green products. Most plastic cases aren’t biodegradable for hundreds of years. But, if we use decomposable materials like cassava powder, we can reduce the damage to the earth. Industrial Technology Research Institute Taiwan now has this kind of research and we take the advantage of it while designing new products.

We devote ourselves on Energy Saving & Carbon Reduction, Toxic Materials Control, Eco Packaging & Recycling while designing and manufacturing products.

The resolution of BenQ to Realize CSR

Every product line will produce at least one green product item this year. Products nowadays, such as the BenQ nReader, packaging, energy consumption, design and components, already follow the green product concept. An electronic book can store hundreds and thousands of contents from traditional books, which reduces paper waste. We will soon let people who are as concerned about the environment as we are to have a better understanding of our green products and concept.

Now the major function team of BenQ have involved in carrying out CSR. For example, HR will gradually convert this building into a green building. This will be done by controlling the temperature between 26 degrees C to 28 degrees C to reduce carbon emissions. Setting up solar energy devices to supply electricity to the building, and installing light sensor devices in the aisles and so on. Furthermore, we will improve the supply chain using the most efficient transportation during the delivery of products to reduce carbon emission.

We hope that everyone will set a good example by bringing handkerchiefs and mugs with them for reducing the use of paper and paper cups. With everyone’s effort, we hope that BenQ can be recognized as a green brand and a green enterprise and a leader of sustainable development.

> 企業承諾 > 產品技術中心總經理的話

產品技術中心總經理的話

近年來CSR 已成為世界潮流,管理學大師Michael Porter也指出,「社會責任與經營策略的結合,將是企業未來新競爭力的來源」。CSR是勢在必行的趨勢,BenQ 從2年前開始就積極推廣綠色產品與綠色設計,全面性地去推動企業社會責任。

CSR涵蓋三大塊,包括社會的關懷、經濟的發展、環境的維護三大塊。基金會做了很多社會關懷的部分,同仁也相當支持,如一日志工活動就有很多同仁參與,類似這樣的活動以後會越來越多。經濟發展則是企業經營最重要的主題,希望透過公司持續的發展與獲利使同仁的權益受到保障、當然也包含對同仁家庭與家人生活的照顧。

環境維護是BenQ推動CSR的重點。BenQ不斷領先業界設計綠色產品,盡量把產品做到綠化。現在的電子產品過度充斥,三到六個月就一個新的週期,身為3C品牌的推動者,我們產品在設計與製造時就考慮降低對環境的衝擊,將「節能減碳」、「控制有毒物質」、「採用可回收材料」列為三大執行重點。

1.節能減碳
節能減碳就是所謂的能源管理,每一代產品都希望能降低能耗30%。我們許多產品如顯示器及電視都已經得到碳足跡的認證。2010年五大產品線都已做到碳足跡的盤查。從生產、製造、研發、行銷、使用與廢棄物回收的過程當中,碳足跡的排放都能清楚揭示,消費者購買時就有一個選擇的依據。之後更希望能推動將碳足跡一代又一代的降低,這需要從上游到下游,從零件到研發及生產一起來推動與改善。

2.控制有毒物質
過去的電子產品有非常多有害物質在製造過程或者是零件中使用,對環境的污染非常長久。如汞的使用,以前投影機的燈以及許多的背光板都含有汞,汞的毒性相當高,但現在LED的推廣,有助於無汞產品的製造。但除了汞之外,還有十幾種有毒物質,需要我們在未來逐步排除。

3.採用可回收材料
3R(Reuse、Recycle、Recovery)材料的使用,WEEE(廢電機電子設備指令) 規定產品使用3R材料的標準是75%,但BenQ許多綠色產品使用3R材料都超過95%。塑膠外殼幾百年不會毀壞,如果多加利用像「樹薯粉」這類生物可分解的材料,就可以減少對地球的危害。和工研院目前就有這樣的合作計劃,我們在設計產品的時候要善加利用 。  

BenQ落實企業社會責任的決心

我們期許自己每年都能有綠色產品的出現。比如電子書的包裝、功耗、設計與組成都充滿了綠色產品的概念,此外電子書能儲存上萬本的紙本書內容,更能減少地球資源的浪費。我們要透過宣傳與行銷活動讓「環保尖兵族」這類的消費者很快地了解與響應我們的「綠色產品」理念,才能確實掌握這一塊的消費族群。

現在BenQ各個主要的功能團隊都參與了CSR的推動。如HR會逐步將這棟大樓變成綠色建築,小至大廳冷氣的管制將溫度控制在26或28度,來減少CO2的排放;大至樓頂增設太陽能發電板,自己供應自己大樓所需要的電,不夠用再向台電購買。或是走道裝設感應式的燈光裝置等等,一步一步將大樓做成綠色建築。此外像是供應鏈管理,在產品的運送過程當中,用最有效率的方式減少碳排放量。

公司也鼓勵同仁都能從自身做起,如養成隨身帶手帕、水壺等習慣,減少紙張與紙杯的使用。希望從裡到外,BenQ都是真正的綠色品牌、綠色企業,做為永續發展的領導者。